in.concert@20th CD order:


Janez Gregorič, Guitar

  • Abel Carlevaro
    • Milonga Oriental
    • Aires de Vidalita
  • John W. Duarte - English Suite
    • Prelude
    • Folk Song
    • Round Dance
  • Agustín Barrios - La Catedral
    • Preludio lento
    • Andante religioso[MP3]
    • Allegro solemne [MP3]
  • Joaquín Rodrigo
    • Tiento Antiguo
    • En los Trigales
  • Léo Brouwer - El Decameron Negro
    • La Arpa del Guerrero
    • La Huida de los Amantes por el Valle de los Ecos
    • Ballada de la Doncella Enamorada
  • Petr Fiala - Sonatina
    • Lento, poco rubato
    • Allegretto scherzando
    • Largo
    • Allegro brillante

Peter Maier – “in.concert@20th” CD review

Sound Aesthete

One striking aspect about this CD is the way Gregorič plays these pieces, allowing them to shine with incredible sound aesthetics. There are virtually no other sounds to be heard, no squeaks, impurities, or extraneous noises; it is a tone of surprising clarity but also deep warmth. […]

Since 1999 Gregorič has played a “Model Carlevaro” instrument made by the German master guitar maker Eberhard Kreul. In 2005 he began playing a modified version of this guitar, the “Model Carlevaro with sound hole.” This CD marks this instrument’s recording debut. Gregorič’s technique in combination with this guitar and the demanding selection of pieces on this CD make for an exceptional treat […]

Peter Maier, "Gitarre aktuell", December 2008

Martin Mysliveček on "in.concert@20th"

The pieces of music on Janez Gregorič’s new CD are a milestone in his development as a musical artist and provide interesting insight into his view on guitar literature of the 20th century. The performer presents himself as a profound and philosophical person who perfectly understands and captures both the conceptual and the emotional components of every piece. Gregorič’s innovative, interpretative and pedagogical approach, influenced by Abel Carlevaro’s sound aesthetics and school, are further indications of his creativity.

The CD includes pieces composed by several composers who have strongly influenced guitar literature. The following two artists are the exception to this rule: the renowned Spanish non-guitarist Joaquín Rodrigo, the genius of twentieth-century guitar literature and composer of the noted ‘Concierto de Aranjuez’ and the Czech musician Petr Fiala who is widely unknown in the guitar world but is a leading Czech choirmaster. Fiala’s compositions created in the 1970’s and 80’s will hopefully gain recognition soon. What connects these two composers is the paradoxical fact that they are both waiting for their complete works to finally gain recognition.

back to summary